Throwback (and Thankful) Thursday: Skincare

84113be90b1bf8e3c615d5cac5329a18

Let’s throwback to a little over a year ago when a friend asked me what I use to wash my face.  I had spent years ruining my skin with crappy chemical laden toxic subpar products from a variety of companies I thought I could trust.  Because if the commercials were cool and/or Target sold it, it had to work and it had to be safe, right?!?  Wrong! 🙂

Oh how I had no idea what a difference I was about to see!  I’m a skeptical person, but after great research and talking to a highly respected, successful lawyer turned phenomenal & successful consultant, I was hooked!

Beautycounter_Logotype_forWeb

As you may or may not remember, last June I was introduced to Beautycounter and I’m not scared of the camera anymore. 🙂

Not only did I start gradually tossing one bad product for a safe Beautycounter product, but I started to pay attention to ingredients used, and what to stay away from.  I learned A LOT and I am still learning.  I really admire a company that is putting health & safety first, rather than sales (although the sales are great!)

bc

Beautycounter bans over 1,500 ingredients and has an extensive Never List which includes the ingredients that are banned because they haven’t been tested for safety and are likely carcinogens, hormone disruptors, and linked to infertility, cancer, ADD/ADHD just to name a few.

“Our Never List is a robust roundup of ingredients that you will never find in Beautycounter products. We have done our homework to make recognizing, understanding, and avoiding these ingredients easier for you.”

neverlist

The funny thing? Before I was introduced to Beautycounter, I tried a lot of products and my skin got progressively worse, so I went back to the cheapest one.  I mean if I still had crappy skin, why pay more money for it?

While I could go on and on about how important it is to your cumulative health to use safe products, and how much better you’ll feel when you remove toxic chemicals from your routine (think household cleaning products/laundry detergents), I’ll curb my excitement before this post becomes the size of a book.

However, did you know Beautycounter is a Certified B Corporation?!

logo_0_0

Quick overview, from the B Corporations website:

Certified B Corporations are leading a global movement to redefine success in business.

By voluntarily meeting higher standards of transparency, accountability, and performance, Certified B Corps are distinguishing themselves in a cluttered marketplace by offering a positive vision of a better way to do business.

Just a few popular B Corps: Ben and Jerry’s, Patagonia, New Belgium Brewing Co., Plum Organics, Yogi Tea

Also, it wouldn’t be fair if I ended this post without sharing this kick butt feature.  Gregg Renfrew (Wife, Mother, Founder & CEO of Beautycounter) had a truly eye opening feature on MSNC 2 weeks ago. Check out the video clip here MSNBC Your Business

I am not going to bash other brands, but I encourage you to educate yourself.  Some companies promote financial gain over products and use harsh ingredients.  Some companies just want your business but do not care about your health.  Some companies slap natural/organic/safe labels on their products but have no information to back up those claims.  At the end of the day, you are your best advocate.  Transparency is key, and in my opinion, Beautycounter is the definition of transparency.  #KnowEverything #EveryoneCounts #YouDeserveBetter

Travel set

I have a few Beautycounter Travel Sets I would love to send to anyone interested in safe skincare. Simply email me at MLPastor.Beautycounter@gmail.com or leave your address in the comments and I will place them in the mail! No strings attached to purchase, I just really like sharing great products with others!

finally

So excited for you!

Leave a Reply

