God Bless America

4th 3

July 4th

We must never forget who gets the credit for the freedoms we have, of which we should be eternally grateful.

4th 2

I watched the flag pass by one day. It fluttered in the breeze.

A young Marine saluted it, and then he stood at ease.

I looked at him in uniform; so young, so tall, so proud.

With hair cut square and eyes alert, he’d stand out in any crowd.

I thought how many men like him had fallen through the years.

How many died on foreign soil; how many mothers’ tears?

How many pilots’ planes shot down? How many died at sea?

How many foxholes were soldiers’ graves?

NO, FREEDOM ISN’T FREE.

I heard the sound of Taps one night, when everything was still.

I listened to the bugler play and felt a sudden chill.

I wondered just how many times that Taps had meant ‘Amen.’

When a flag had draped a coffin of a brother or a friend.

I thought of all the children, of the mothers and the wives, of fathers, sons and husbands with interrupted lives.

I thought about a graveyard at the bottom of the sea.

Of unmarked graves in Arlington.

NO FREEDOM ISN’T FREE!

God Bless America 

4th 1

How great is this house?  Not sure if the caption is true, but if it is…he’s my new favorite person!

4th 4

Leave a Reply

