Happy 85th Birthday, Poppy!

85 years ago today, which would be September 4, 1930, my sweet grandfather entered this world.

selfie

He wanted to take a Selfie 🙂

The following events happened on September 4th:

1609 – Navigator Henry Hudson was the first European to discover the island of Manhattan

1682 – English astronomer Edmund Halley observes the comet named after him

1833 – First newsboy hired (NY Sun)

1882 – 1st large scale test of Thomas Edison’s light bulb lighting of NY’s Pearl Street Station

1885 – First cafeteria opens (NYC)

1886 – Apache chief Geronimo surrenders to U.S. government troops

1888 – George Eastman patents 1st roll-fil camera & registers “Kodak”

1893 – English author Beatrix Potter first writes the story of Peter Rabbit for a 5 year old boy

1930 – Cambridge Theater opens in London & my grandfather was born!

SAM_0294

He has shared his special day with the following events:

1933 – First airplane to exceed 300mph

194010th Birthday CBS begins broadcasting TV as station W2XAB

1941 – NY Yankees win earliest AL pennant (full season)

1944 – British 11th Armored Division frees Antwerp

1945 – US regains possession of Wake Island from Japan

1948 – Queen Wilhelmina abdicates Dutch throne

195020th Birthday First helicopter rescue of American pilot behind enemy lines

1951 – First transcontinental TV broadcast, by US President Harry Truman

1951 – NBC extends to become a 61 station coast to coast network

1956 – The IMB RAMAC 305 is introduced, the first commercial computer that used magnetic disk storage

1957 – Governor of Arkansas, Orval Faubus, calls out National Guard to stop 9 black students from entering Little Rock high school

1961 – Carol Burnette & Richard Hayes Show premieres on CBS radio

1965 – Beatles single “Help!” goes #1 and stays #1 for 3 weeks

1967 – Jerry Lewis’ 2nd Muscular Dystrophy telethon

1972 – US swimmer Mark Spitz becomes 1st athlete to win 7 Olympic Gold Medals

1981 – US performs nuclear test at Nevada Test Site

1986 – 189.42 million shares traded in NYSE

1998 – Google is founded by Larry Page & Sergey Brin, two students at Stanford University

Poppy 85th_Page_3

Growing up, I always though my grandfather didn’t like me, and I kind of only wanted to visit my grandparents when I knew he would be at work, not on Tuesday & Wednesday, his days off.  I tried to overcompensate and would sneak into my grandparents room and write him a note and stick it in the bottom of his lunchbox (after he retired twice, he worked as a police dispatcher from 4pm-midnight).  I also thought if I woke him up from his pre-work nap, that would be a good choice – well, when you’re sound asleep, a 7 year old may not be the best person to wake you up – so he was often grumpy.  Well, I’m not sure how it came up, but I ended up telling my Gramma that I didn’t know what to do to make Poppy like me.  She was baffled, and explained that he only teased me and picked on me because he LOVED me.  And then she brought me to the police station and even though I had been there before, Poppy gave us a tour.  He brought me to his locker and what was inside?   EVERY SINGLE NOTE and/or DRAWING I ever put in his lunchbox.  Mind you, this was late elementary early middle school for me.  In fact, every card anyone has ever sent him is saved in the bottom drawer of his dresser. 🙂  I am sad I spent a few years thinking I was bothering him, but I am SO glad we are so close now!  He really is one of my favorite people ever.

IMAG1378

My grandfather was the one who would drive an hour to our house (and an hour back home) really early in the morning so he could take me to Daddy/Daughter breakfast in elementary school.  And I always thought it was super cool because even though I didn’t eat breakfast at school, I LOVED cafeteria pancakes.  The pancakes were usually hard and let’s be real, plastic knives and Styrofoam trays just don’t mix.  So he’d take out his trusty pocket knife and cut up our breakfast, walk me to my classroom, and then drive the hour back home.  Occasionally he and my grandmother would stay for the night, but clearly he loved me.  In high school I received an award and it led to a 9 day stay in Washington DC with a huge banquet the last night.  Who was super pumped to take his suit out of the closet and attend with my Mom?  My grandfather.  (goodness I wish I had childhood pictures on my computer!)

I always say I’m the favorite grandchild (first born, only girl) but he agrees.  It probably helps that I kidnap him for random adventures.  I wish I had a working camera at the time, but in high school we went to High Tea at a local Tea House and enjoyed delightful scones, and in college we toured a local Brewery and then went to a local creamery and ate ice cream sundaes outside.  Now, I bring him to Chick-fil-A and a different Brewery, and bend the rules Gramma gave us. 🙂

IMG00099

This post started with a lot of historical facts, and after 85 years Grampa has seen and experienced A LOT!  Black & White to Color TVs. Rotary phones and landlines to Cell Phones to Smartphones.   Going to the bank to deposit a check to direct deposit/mobile banking.  Snail mail to email.  Going to the library and reserving books to online reservations.  While I may be the one who has the email address and passwords for his Facebook, Pinterest, and Instagram accounts, he really knows his way around a computer and enjoys his routine!  He is also such a fantastic husband to my grandmother.  She’s been pretty sick for a few years now but after 61.5 years of marriage, you can still see how much he loves her.  He set the bar pretty high when it comes to what to look for in a husband!

Poppy, Happy 85th Birthday!  You have taught me more than you’ll ever know, and I love you more than you love me – which is a lot!

One thought on “Happy 85th Birthday, Poppy!

  1. Excellent post! Poppy seems like a wonderful man. You are so blessed to know your grandpa. My grandfathers’ had both passed when I was born so I’ve never known the joy of having a Grandpa.

    Like

Leave a Reply

