Taco Tuesday

tacos

I really like tacos.  And yes, this means burritos, enchiladas, nachos…because let’s be real, it’s the same ingredients just in a different form.  Ok fine, I like Mexican food.

A little over 2 years ago I started paying attention to what I was eating (and as you know, what I was using on my skin, and what I was using to clean my home) and stopped buying prepackaged sauces/seasonings and soups, and started making my own.  It is SO simple to mix up a batch of homemade Taco Seasoning, Ranch Dip/Dressing, Onion Soup/Dip, Cream of ____ Soup etc. and when you break it down, it’s cheaper to buy the ingredients and make everything on your own.  Not only does it last longer, but you know the exact ingredients you are using which means no hidden chemicals and no unnecessary items.

I find that it is helpful to buy the ingredients in bulk since it’s cheaper and you’ll use them anyway.  Again, the amount of chemicals and unnecessary ingredients in seasoning packets is just ridiculous. Funny story, I’ve never liked Chicken Noodle soup because it has ALWAYS weirded me out that chicken sits on a shelf in a can and I would only eat homemade soup.  Well, as I’ve aged, I’ve realized childhood/middle school/high school Megan was smart for not liking or eating canned soup because aside from an amazingly high sodium content, so much junk is in those cans.  So I made a change, and you can too!  #OffSoapBoxNow or is it #OffSoupCan 🙂

A friend shared with me her Taco Seasoning recipe and I LOVE it, so I wanted to share with blog land since I think about 85% of my friends are already using this recipe!  I’ve used it exclusively since Fall 2012 (I have a crazy memory!) and everything just tastes better.  It is SO simple and lasts awhile so since Fall weather is hopefully coming soon, I wanted to share!  #BringOnTheChili

Taco Seasoning

1 cup Chili Powder

1/2 cup Onion Powder

1/2 cup Ground Cumin

2 tablespoons Garlic Powder

2 tablespoons Sea Salt

3-4 tablespoons is the equivalent of most taco seasoning packets, and it keeps well in a container in the cabinet.

Simple & delicious.  That’s my kind of recipe!

0a3b1d95accc33dce69575c5e49348f4

Leave a Reply

